Pharrell is having fun with G I R L

By March 4, 2014Music

Released yesterday (March 3) the long awaited new album from the man of the moment has arrived! There are so many fantastic collaborations on the album – Justin Timberlake, Miley Cyrus, Daft Punk, Alicia Keys – it’s too good to be true! Billboard have given the album an 85 rating and Pharrell himself describes it rather succinctly as “festive and urgent”. The album is incredibly positive, packed full of joie de vivre – it’s just the summer album we need.

Pharrell has spoken about it being a “celebration of women”, because we all know how much Pharrell loves women, right? It’s perfect for the helpless romantics amongst us and is loaded with sexual metaphors, but nothing heavy, it’s all about playfulness and joy.

Pharrell’s latest single, Happy, the fifth track on the new album, is Nº1 on the Billboard Hot 100 and Nº1 in the UK – in fact it has broken all records in the UK by becoming the first single in 57 years to reach number 1 three times! It has spawned a plethora of covers and copies and is likely to stay on the radio waves for weeks to come. And why not? What a great song – brilliantly simple and incredibly contagious, just listening to it makes you Happy!

Here’s a track by track review

1- Marilyn Monroe
With the strings arrangement by Hans Zimmer, this opening cinematic song is performed by a 30-piece orchestra. You’ll hear plenty of famous women’s names in the chorus and will be exhorted to “dance and elevate each other”.

2- Brand New ft. Justin Timberlake
High falsettos and congo rhythms, this song is about the rejuvenating power of love. Certainly one of the stronger candidates for a single. Great to hear Justin and Pharrell together, this partnership just works.


3- Hunter
A sexy, heavy breathing number “Hey baby, my love is callin’ / Hey baby, my sex is callin’”. It’s a track straight out of the 70’s.

4- Gush
Well, I guess you could say this is the sex song of the album (not surprising with a title like that). The lyrics tell the steamy story “take off your halo and wings” – “light that ass on fire” and “leave those panties in flames.” Well, girls, why not?

5- Happy – no explanation needed!

Pharrell Williams – Happy (Play this video in Creation 5)

6- Come Get it Bae ft. Miley Cyrus
Pharrell has been instrumental in helping the singer’s transition from child star to superstar, and in this track they have fun. There’s plenty of clapping and screams – a bit of a party number. Chorus: “You wanna ride it, my motorcycle / You got a license, well you got a right to / wanna pop a wheelie, don’t try too hard to, cuz girl I like you.”


7- Gust of Wind ft. Daft Punk
For us this is the stand out track on the album. It’s a strings-and-bass disco jam that will have you wearing out the repeat button. It feels like it could have come from Random Access Memories – but feels completely at home next to tracks like Happy.


Pharrell ft. Daft Punk – Gust of Wind

8- Lost Queen
Could be a tribute to women that are out of this world? “What planet are you from, girl?” It’s sort of tribal and does promise “hot sex and gold shiny things”.

9- I Know Who You Are ft. Alicia Keys
A bit of sensitivity from Pharrell “I know who you are and I know what you’re feeling” with a taste of ska flavor. Alicia is wonderfully soulful.

10- It Girl
It’s all about the sex, basically. The power that women exert over men “your waves wash all over me,”. For sure this album has been inspired by the great time Pharrell has with women.

Pharrel talks about his new album at the Brit Awards (Play this video in Creation 5)

Don’t have Creation 5? Download it on the App Store!

iPhone Free iPhone Pro iPad Free iPad Pro
btn-appstore-icon-blue-iphone-en-EN btn-appstore-icon-blue-iphone-en-EN btn-appstore-icon-blue-ipad-en-EN btn-appstore-icon-blue-ipad-en-EN

If you are already using Creation 5 Media app, don’t forget that you can expand your music collection, for free, by downloading any of the video clips that appear in the above article.
Here’s how:

BLOG-Footer-1 BLOG-Footer-2 BLOG-Footer-3
Open the video in Creation 5 – we have created links by the side of each song title for this very purpose, so just click on any of these and the video will open inside Creation 5. Once the video is playing inside the app, press and hold the song title and choose DOWNLOAD from the options. That’s it! You can now find the video in your ‘Favorites’ folder. Press and hold the song title and choose SHARE. If your friends don’t have Creation 5, they will be directed to the App store where they can download the app for free.