The unique Icelandic group Of Monsters and Men are back on the scene with their latest single Crystals. The lyric video, directed by Tjarnargatan, lets us take a front row seat to the passions of life, love and tribulation seen through the eyes of a gruff old man; told to us by his expressions in a black and white empty landscape.

It’s such a simple concept for a video, but really quite genius, when you realise how strongly the audience connects to what they are seeing, hearing and reading. It’s such a great combination to accompany such a meaningful song.

Crystals is taken from the groups forthcoming album Beneath the Skin, set to be released June 8 via Universal Music. In addition they will be releasing a deluxe version featuring two other brand new songs as well as a Grizzly Bear remix of their album track Black Water. That’s the one we’ll be getting as soon it comes out, for sure. Love us a bit of deluxe!

Beneath the Skin Tracklist
1. ‘Crystals’
2. ‘Human’
3. ‘Hunger’
4. ‘Wolves Without Teeth’
5. ‘Empire’
6. ‘Slow Life’
7. ‘Organs’
8. ‘Black Water’
9. ‘Thousand Eyes’
10. ‘I of the Storm’
11. ‘We Sink’

Deluxe Edition
12. ‘Backyard’
13. ‘Winter Sound’
14. ‘Black Water (Chris Taylor Of Grizzly Bear Remix)’

To watch this video in Creation 5, tap here.

Don’t have Creation 5? Download it from the App Store!

iPhone iPad